So I broke all 4 exhaust side rocker arms, timing issue?

DeanGrind

Spectator
LOL another one of these, so I rebuilt my SR, went to do the initial start up, and this happened, I cranked it over by hand before I started it and nothing strange happened then, so what could this be all about? I can't see any damage to the valves, but then again I havent taken the head off either, and I'd prefer not to.

67E21D7B-0441-4616-A67B-7E5E65DC1FEF-3399-000000B13E278AC9_zpsc41dbaaf.jpg

Anybody ever hear of all 4 on one side breaking or have a similar experience of advice? I feel like this is timing related

:rolleyes:

Maybe old and they just couldn't handle the torque? I've never heard of 4 on one side breaking on anything before

I've found improper valve adjustment has caused rockers to break in BMW motors but I have no experience with Nissan.

Here is something from a google search.

Rocker Breakage!
– What Typically Causes It – Too Much Spring Pressure, Bad Geometry, Wild Camshafts?

Factory rocker arms were designed to run a long time in the atmosphere of a stock engine. Subjecting them to increased spring pressures or aggressive cam profiles can be a disaster. Trunion bearings, axles, nose wheels, and pushrod cups can fail at any given time. Quality aftermarket roller rockers are designed with high performance hazards figured into the equation to help prevent these failures.